One of the most historically and architecturally significant buildings in Wichita Falls, this Museum features original family furnishings, textiles, decorative arts and historic costumes. Guided tours of this local, state and national landmark provide a fascinating history of this area’s early settlement and of the Kell family. Frank Kell, long considered a visionary and driving force behind the growth of the city, moved to Wichita Falls in 1896 at the urging of his brother-in-law, Joseph Kemp. The two men were involved in the grain industry, the development of Lake Wichita, utility companies, the newspaper, streetcar system, the railroad, the local college and more! In 1909, Mr. Kell purchased land overlooking downtown and built a home for his family. It was purchased and restored by the Wichita County Heritage Society and the Museum opened in 1981.
*Undergoing extensive renovation project – please call ahead for tour hours.